Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

Bedtime Fairy Tale by chips NC-17
This is a tale of love between a city boy and a country boy in California State.

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 33%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 33%
Hotness
Hotness 33%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:
Reviews For (g) Recovery

Name: bebe11 (Signed) · Date: August 04, 2012 07:49 pm · For: Chapter 1
A lovely entry to this series. I enjoyed it very much.

Author's Response: Thanks bebe! Really pleased you enjoyed it...


Name: Loahisi (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2012 09:47 am · For: Chapter 1
And i officially start my reviews even if I don't know if it will last.
This chapter was very emotional because of what happened in the last one but you manage to bring the sweetness of Luke and Noah in between do its not all crying time. Lol
I also love their banter and the funny time at the end with the nurse.
See you next chapter
Oh and since I lost the thread on Facebook, thanks for the answer about London. It help me.

Author's Response: Hey! :-) My pleasure... I wouldn't want you to miss your flight! And thanks for reading!


Name: panda17jessie (Signed) · Date: February 28, 2012 07:04 pm · For: Chapter 1
good job :)

Author's Response: Thank you ;-)


Name: neddiheht (Signed) · Date: December 18, 2011 06:24 pm · For: Chapter 1

Okay... I sorta hate the first few lines of this.  Part of this is just the crazy grammarian in me.  "He woke with a start" is really not an exclamation.  I want the images firmly in my head.  Then I want him to wake.  Action, then puzzlement working together to drag me in.

Several of these early paragraphs suffer from pronoun confusion.  It's always a problem writing gay couples, but it's not usually so pronounced in your writing.  The paragraphs seem... well, less polished than I would usually expect, almost as though you were posting just to advance the story so you could get to something else.

You've also had some fairly consistent than/then confusion throughout... this may be something you elimanate later... it's often hard to catch on a first read, but I noticed it when I reread this section to comment.  I'll try to keep an eye out for it in later sections to see if it continues.

The description of noah sitting next to luke, brushing his hair and tucking that one curl behind his ear... that's what you do brilliantly, picking the small details that really drive realism into the story.  I can see Noah doing that.  It's sweet and tender.  It makes me love the character and recognize his love for Luke.  Keep doing that.

I love that the boys can't stand to be apart even in the same room and keep crawling back into bed together.  I thought the little bits of them playing games in the hospital were cute.  The questions from the police about Joshua is some good foreshadowing that you have intentions for that character to continue in the series.  And I thought it was really in character to have Lily run straight for Noah (having been prevented earlier by Holden). 

I do wonder though... I feel a little like too much of the friendliness of Oakdale's Memorial has been injected into what is surely a very sterile huge LA hospital.

 



Author's Response:

Yeah... grammar... not my strength... hee hee!

I did eventually become aware of the pronoun problem... funny because at the time I didn't notice so much but now when I check my stories I'm always trying to make sure it's clear who's saying or doing what. 

I figured the boys are just so charming the nurses can't help themselves!  LOL!  They have also paid for a private room so odds are they're treated better than the run of the mill...



Name: buttercup (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2011 04:10 pm · For: Chapter 1

Oh poor guys!  The suffering they are still going through is heartbreaking.  I'm glad they have such understanding nurses, who are there to help them through it, emotionally and physically.  It's obvious to everyone how much they love each other.  



Author's Response:

I wanted a bridge to the next story that showed them dealing with the ordeal... because the show always put them through stuff and then suddenly the next day they are all fine with it!  I mean people aren't like that!  They get emotionally scarred by these things! 

Thanks for the comment buttercup!



Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 06:50 am · For: Chapter 1

love it



Author's Response:

You're really very sweet and I'm so pleased you have enjoyed the stories... I hope you like the rest of the LA Series... It does get a little wild from here on in...  Prepare yourself!



Name: daan73 (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2011 10:19 am · For: Chapter 1

they really needed the time to heal psycally and mentally

now they can slowly move on



Author's Response:

I wanted to get all the angst over the whole DAD thing out of the way in one go so that we could move on...



Name: Santasorted (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2010 03:20 am · For: Chapter 1

You are an amazing writer!  It's incredible how well you capture the love between these two.  And they are doing nothing but lying in a hospital room and yet I'm completely hooked by it all...  Just lovely...



Name: daan73 (Signed) · Date: November 27, 2010 09:28 am · For: Chapter 1

thank god they survived and got out of it stronger



Name: glori572 (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2010 08:38 pm · For: Chapter 1

this was great. it was so sweet and tender the way they kept ending up in bed together. loved it so much. am hoping for another chapter. a wedding would be nice, as far as i know it is legal still in L.A.

oh, i hope you don't mind but for future reference, it's actually "of course" not "of cause." just in case you didn't catch the mistype.

 



Author's Response:

Hee hee!  Oh dear!  This is a problem that has plagued me for years!  I type really fast (at about 95 wpm) and for some reason I have this nasty habit of dropping the "r" in "course" which makes the spell check change it to "cause"...  grrr... Anyway I will edit this!

It's actually funny how careful I have had to be when reviewing these stories.  I'm not American and have never even stepped foot in America, so I've had to be really careful not to give myself away in the writing.  Like for instance in "Separation" I originally had Luke in the "boot" and then just before I posted the story noticed it and change it to "trunk".  Also I think I used the word "petrol" which I'm not sure you use in the States.  And in "Recovery" I had Noah land on "Mayfair" and then remembered that you have a different Monopoly board in America and I had to google it to find out what place names I could use! 

Anyway you'll have to forgive me if I get things like this wrong!

Thanks for taking the time to review!  I wasn't sure of this one so I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it so much!      



Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2010 08:31 pm · For: Chapter 1

Awesome.  Can we ask for another sequel?  How they end up once they get home -- do they stay in LA or go to Oakdale -- etc?  These are all just fantastic.



Author's Response:

Ahh!  Thanks so much!  You'll have to wait and see what happens next... 

So will I actually, because I have no idea either! Tee Hee!



Name: snuke (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2010 07:29 pm · For: Chapter 1

lt´s so nice to read your series.

A sequel to marriage please !

 



Author's Response:

You are so sweet snuke!  Thank you!  I really appreciate your kind comments!



You must login (register) to review.