Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

Queer as the World by scott_gilles NC-17
A cross over of As the world turns and Queer as folk. The boys from Pittsburgh take a wrong turn and...

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 33%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 33%
Hotness
Hotness 33%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:
Reviews For (b) Start Again

Name: Barbara (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2013 03:36 am · For: Chapter 1
Well hello there...

I have seen this compilation of stories around for years and I had never read them all after reading your vision (if that is even the right word) of the behavior of Noah in regards to the doctor. Yes, as ridiculous as it is after all this time the character from start to finish makes me sick to my stomach which is equally ridiculous as these are not even real people.
Having said that with all the emotion put into Noah and Luke on the show the ending was so very painful. I never EVER read stories with the doctor as a "central, even in memories, character. I guess what I'm trying to ask you is...if I stick with this story, which I'd really love to, does Noah keep having to apologize to Luke? In ANY story, not just yours that does not ring true that he would keep going on with apologies. I really see a precedent in the boys relationship of one fighting for the other as they are being pushed away, such as Noah helping Luke's injury after the camping trip from hell. So...
What I am getting at is will this story eventually ease up on the doctors place in their lives, Luke continuing to put so much blame on Noah and will we concentrate on just the boys finding their way back to each other with both of them on equal footing?
As I said earlier, I know this series of stories is VERY POPULAR and I'd love to read it all the way through.
I hope you'll not think of me as too big a pain in the ass. I, myself, can't believe after all this time these two boys from a tv show can evoke this much emotion in me and the devoted few who felt the interloper ruined the beautiful and pure love story of Luke and Noah.
P.S. Whatever impression I've given you from this little, or stupidly long comment, I think it is simply wonderful that you have been keeping the boys alive and keep sharing it with us all. Thank you for that!

Author's Response: Hi Barbara... When I started writing this I wanted to keep to canon (as much as I too disliked the direction the original writers took the show)... So I've kept the Reid memory as it was first depicted. However, The LA Series deals and resolves the Reid situation in the first 4 one-shots. After that Reid is pretty much never mentioned except where I use it to highlight the Nuke connection (which is rare). I suggest you read the first 4 stories just for the background... however I feel I was quite diplomatic I guess is the word. So if you weren't a LuRe fan you should be able to see my view especially in Start Again... My main aim was to bring Noah back into the light and hopefully I did this... The LA Series is much more a series of adventure stories involving purely Nuke... So I hope you do continue to read and enjoy it. Like I say, if you really can't stomach the Reid issue, then start by reading 'Happiness' first... You should be fine after that... Thanks for reading despite your reservations ;-)


Name: neddiheht (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2011 06:18 pm · For: Chapter 1

It feels like you use "whilst" a lot, and it makes everything feel very antiquated, almost formal, when what we're meant to see is domesticity and the bliss of two people who love each other sharing their lives.  It makes things feel stilted a bit.

You capitalize some things that don't need it.  Grandson, dad, etc. are usually only capitalized if they are being used as a form of address instead of a name.

I like the domestic scene, and the realization that Luke is listening to classical music because that's what he did with Reid.  And that he's struggling still to talk about it. 

But I struggle with Noah having the defined sense of why he was pushing Luke away.  I never really felt like he was even sure why he was doing it during the series, and for it to have been a calculated move to protect Luke, even though that's very like Noah, doesn't really gel for me with what I saw in the series.  I'm not against that being the reason so much, as it being really something he can put into words so quickly... I feel like he would need to explore the feelings at length to discover it.  And because we don't see that, because he doesn't talk about having thought about it a lot to come to these conclusions, I don't immediately buy in to the story and it keeps me from being there in the moment.



Author's Response:

Yes I see your point.  I guess looking back it may have been a good idea to write a flashback to Noah's year without Luke before posting Start Again (although as explained before I never expected this to become a series)... However there are numerous flashbacks to come in the series and perhaps you'll find your resolution to this in there somewhere...  It will be interesting to see if you do. 

This was just how I always reasoned Noah's behaviour in my own mind, even while the show was still on. 

By the way you will find numerous grammar issues... apologies in advance... Oh and I'm South African by birth and live in England so there are times when I inadvertently use the English rather than American version of a word.   

 



Name: CGil (Signed) · Date: September 10, 2011 03:59 pm · For: Chapter 1

Hope you don't think I am too pathetic for reading and commenting on this again...I love how you wrote this one..so tender between the two of them. They almost know what the other one is thinking but for some reason they require the words to be said to make it real...ahhhhhh ***sighs****. So much hope.. <3



Author's Response:

LOL!  Am I taking so long to upload the next chapter that you've been forced to reread to get your fix?  ;-)  Not that I'm complaining!

Well... I know I've been really slow lately but I have a very very good reason in RL for it... So hopefully you can forgive me... :-)



Name: Loahisi (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2011 11:58 am · For: Chapter 1

I could totally imagine Noah pushing Luke away because of what you wrote. I so wish the writer on ATWT would have given us some sort of explanation. You did and that's great.



Author's Response:

Well... this was what I always believed the writers were getting at... but maybe that's just how I saw it.  I totally understood Noah's behaviour... although I hate that they dragged it out for so long.  It was the length of time it took for Noah to come around that I think spoilt his character for some people.  But my dad has been sick with cancer before and he behaved just like Noah... Angry and really difficult to be around... But it's just because they can't deal with anybody else's emotions when they barely have enough energy to deal with their own.  For me, Noah's behaviour seemed natural because of this. 

Pleased it gave you an explanation.  And thanks for the rating.



Name: buttercup (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2011 01:38 pm · For: Chapter 1

So glad they talked.  I hated when they broke up.  That image of Luke standing on the porch of Lily's house with tears rolling down his cheeks and his  mouth open, just broke my heart.  I actually remember throwing something at the TV!  LOL

You are a very talented writer. 



Author's Response:

It was very sad with they broke up... I had to take a deep breath before I started to watch that one... But at the time I was okay with them splitting because I always believed they'd eventually be put back together.  I was really looking forward to that and then the writers took the easy way out!  Grr!

Thanks!



Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 04:59 am · For: Chapter 1

ohh so cute



Author's Response:

Yes they are :-)  Thanks!



Name: daan73 (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2011 06:36 am · For: Chapter 1

so good that they talked so many unspoken questions there

ans needed answers

i am glad they got that weight of their chest

lets see how it will continue

:) Danielle



Author's Response:

Yes... just me putting them back together...



Name: Santasorted (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2010 03:11 am · For: Chapter 1

Poor Noah!  So much going on in his head and not able to get it out!  So sweet how Luke helps him along...  So much love in this story!



Name: daan73 (Signed) · Date: November 27, 2010 04:35 am · For: Chapter 1

breathtaking the conversation!

really amazing

thanks for sharing

Danielle



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment Danielle!  I really appreciate it!  I'm so glad you enjoyed these!  I hope you like the others in the series too...



Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2010 04:43 pm · For: Chapter 1

:-)  So sweet.  Really glad to see them work on their relationship so that it sticks this time!



Author's Response:

Hi again ficnic!  I'm pleased you are enjoying these...



Name: Aspirwriter (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2010 06:25 pm · For: Chapter 1

 Nice ending.  Good explanation from Noah - I had never looked at it from that perspective myself either.   

Sounds, though, like another chapter is in order to deal with how Luke handles grimaldi shipping, the foundation, and the need to leave for Oakdale??   

Tom



Author's Response:

Thank's so much Tom!  I'm glad I managed to surprised you with another perspective. 



Name: snuke (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2010 04:52 pm · For: Chapter 1

Well this story was better than the end of ATWT.



Author's Response:

Wow!  Thanks for that... I'm glad you enjoyed it!



Name: tammynelson78 (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2010 01:09 pm · For: Chapter 1

+GREAT JOB...PLEASE CONTINUE WITH THIS STORY....ANXIOUS TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS NEXT.



Author's Response:

Hi!  Í do have a few more ideas for this so watch this space!  Thanks for the kind words!



Name: Lau (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2010 11:43 am · For: Chapter 1

Oh I love the way you see things! This had been a way better direction for the writers to go in, instead of what actually happened..



Author's Response:

Thank you so much...



Name: newhaven (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2010 08:53 am · For: Chapter 1
Throughout the conversation they had not once pulled their hands apart. They had held on steadfastly. But now they broke the connection so that they could throw their arms around each other in a deep hug. Noah’s right hand rested on Luke’s head and played softly with his hair. Luke rubbed small circles on Noah’s back. The only sound was the ticking of the clock. And they let an indefinable amount of time pass. Standing together like that. For as long as they both needed.

What a great follow up to Right for Each Other. I hope you share more of these one shots.

Sue (from the wiki)

Author's Response:

Hi Sue... Thanks for all the great comments!  I'm pleased that you are enjoying these!  I'll keep writing them so long as they keep popping into my head!



Name: glori572 (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2010 08:51 am · For: Chapter 1

that was really great. always wanted the soap to take a route like that. i always believed noah pushed luke away because he didn't want to burden him with a blind man. this was sweet and tender. am hoping though for their relationship to go full circle, and they end up passionate again. please give us another one where they do take the relationship to the next level.



Author's Response:

Looks like you and I are on the same wavelink!  I've written my next one shot just for you :-)



Name: Tonya (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2010 08:08 am · For: Chapter 1
This is fantastic! I love the conversation between Luke and Noah and I love your explanation for Noah pushing Luke away during his blindness.

Thanks for posting!

Author's Response:

Thanks Tonya.  Your positive comments mean so much!



You must login (register) to review.