Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

Symbols of Love by jb1183 PG
Luke and Emma take some time to remember the loves in their lives.

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 33%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 33%
Hotness
Hotness 33%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 50
Members:
Reviews For Sun

Name: jb1183 (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2015 10:35 pm · For: European Orchid
My dear Mariken, I'm sorry that I've been so scarce around these parts recently that I'm only just now seeing you have a new offering!

And what a marvelous offering it is! With a true economy of under 600 words, you tell us everything we need to know and expertly evoke the setting and emotions of this moment. A piece like this is a definite change of pace from your usually dialogue driven pieces, and truly demonstrates your growing confidence and versatility as a writer. The use of second person narrative is also really effective and surprisingly moving, almost as if you're standing with Noah right in the moment and helping him realize these truths.

My busy schedule has made writing pretty much impossible lately, but someday soon when I carve out some time, I'd like to see what I can come up with for your brilliant challenge. I know this community is a lot "quieter" than it was a year or two ago, but thanks SO much for sharing this beautiful story and for all you do to support others and their work. You're the best, Mariken! :)

Author's Response: Hi Jim, you GORGEOUS creature, you! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review (if I recall correctly you're currently juggling work/school/the rest of your life. Time must be the scarsest of all your commodities right now).

Thanks even more for your kind, thoughtful and insightful words. I was so rusty, writing this. It had been a year; I had to finish my thesis (so yeah, been where you're currently hanging. I found sleep is first to go. Closely followed by any semblance of a social life. Not to mention being able to write anything for my own enjoyment). So to read you liked what I conjured up, was a thrill to me. I was inspired by Sarah's and Anne's latest poetic offerings. Hope you had time to read those as well.

As for you returning to Nukefic: looking forward to it! I've missed both you and your writing. But don't spread yourself too thin. Do what you have to do, and come back to us when you can. To paraphrase a much loved character: "We'll be waitin'"


Name: snuke (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 11:59 pm · For: European Orchid
Beautiful just perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Such kind words. I'm really glad you enjoyed this!


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2015 09:42 pm · For: European Orchid
So great to see you back Mariken! Loved this so much! So much feeling in every word! Love our boys back together! Xxxxx

Author's Response: Glad to be back, Louise! So happy to read that my first drabble after such a long time away from writing fiction, managed to make you happy.

I hope I never get used to the giddy feeling I get, when reading wonderful reviews from accomplished writers such as you. Thanks! xxxxx


Name: Horserider (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2015 01:55 pm · For: European Orchid
Absolutely fabulous loved reading the emotion written in this thank you so much for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and for this lovely comment, Paul! Very, very glad you found this enjoyable!


Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2015 11:48 am · For: European Orchid
Short but oh so sweet .. Beautiful flow Thank you Mariken for such a wonderful look at our boys x

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Stella! "Beautiful flow" is an amazing compliment. Blushing now! x


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2015 10:27 am · For: European Orchid
Ah Mariken, Mariken!! I was sighing right along there with Noah. This is the perfect picture of them told so beautifully and poetically that it instantly relaxed me after a full on Monday.

You say so much about them in so few well chosen words that I can totally imagine this playing out in my mind. It's so them!

Perfect! Welcome back to writing! !

Author's Response: So glad I helped you relax, Anne! Thanks for this lovely comment.

Truthfully, this would have come out a lot worse, had I not been inspired by your and Sarah's recent fics. You painted such beautiful images, I wanted to emulate that a little. Thanks for being such a shining example and for setting the bar so gloriously high! x


Name: scj0710 (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2015 09:16 pm · For: European Orchid
Ah, Mariken. What a perfect way to wind down after a long Monday....Sun! Thanks to you I am now relaxed and completely blissful. As always - your words have carried me away to a very lovely place. I confess to being unfamiliar with Brian Molko - but believe you me I am going to give him the full Google/You Tube treatment. So good to have a new Nuke masterpiece from you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely comment Stacey. Your kind words brighten my day better than any sun (fictional or otherwise) could! Glad I made your Monday a bit easier to handle.

Brian Molko (who happens to be an androgynous thing of true beauty, think: Goth Kurt Hummel) is the lead singer for Placebo, a band I've been falling in love with all over again, recently. The song I quote is Exit Wounds, which is as desperate as Noah might have gotten when Luke was with Doctor Rude. I wanted to ilustrate how far he's come by giving that line a new emotional load. For your amusement (or to ignore at will, if you so desire ;-)) here's a link to my currently favourite Placebo song:
https://youtu.be/DHQngnnHE_0

Again: thank you so much for your review, my Sweet. You're awesome!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2015 06:50 am · For: European Orchid
Oh my, Mariken.

This is seriously beautiful. You had me smiling by the end of the first sentence, easily picturing Luke in the sun, and it just grew from there.
I actually can't believe how much of Luke and Noah you packed into such a short, but so beautifully evocative, piece.

Sheer poetry.
And beautiful.
Did I mention that already.

Author's Response: Seriously beautiful? No, YOU are! :-)

Credit, where credit is due: this would not have been written if I didn't have your recent writings (I once called your stories delicate, intricate lacework. I stand by that) and Anne's as a shining example. Didn't mean to copy you guys, but your words are so moving and effective, I wanted to emulate your style (considering how I usually go all-out on dialogue and description, I wanted to try and bring some feelings across this time).

So very glad you like it! Made me incredibly happy to read that!


You must login (register) to review.