Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

Matters That Lie in The Heart by georgeeAR PG
Luke and Noah try to figure out what they mean it each other.

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 50%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 0%
Hotness
Hotness 50%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:
Reviews For Regrets Only

Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2013 01:01 pm · For: Regrets Only
So thrilled you accepted the "Neid" challenge and delivered us this! I might be the only one here who loves Reid every bit as much as Noah and Luke (okay, maybe a lil' more than Luke LOL), so I absolutely appreciate your ability to walk us through Reid's experience while still wearing your Nuke hat. There are Lures out there who don't write him this well. Kudos, Jim!

Author's Response: Nic, I missed this kind review you left a couple of weeks ago. I truly appreciate your words and have genuinely enjoyed getting my "Neid" on of late. It's fair to say I have complicated feelings about Reid, even as I acknowledge that there are many things to appreciate about the character-Eric Sheffer Steven's performances being first and foremost. It makes me a little wistful for an alternate reality where the character wasn't brought on specifically to deny my favorite fictional couple of all time an onscreen happy ending, because I think I could have wholeheartedly supported him in a different relationship/circumstances. As you know, though, I have come around to enjoying romantic Neid scenarios as long as they're completely AU or Luke is no longer an option for either man. And it really means a lot that you think I've written him better than some Lures! If anything, I think I take a page from your playbook because, even in writing him sympathetically, you refuse to deify him, which is a trap that far too many Lure writers fall into from what I've seen. Thanks so much, Nic!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2013 04:27 am · For: Regrets Only
You know why I loved this, Jim, so I'm not gonna get into that here.

I second Mariken.
Write full-time. You know you want to.

Author's Response: Sarah, thanks so very much for reminding me of your lovely earlier comments. They were appreciated then, as well as now. And good heavens, if anybody should be writing full-time, it should be you! If only it weren't for those pesky bills and needing to put food on the table! As always, your supportive words mean so much to me.


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2013 03:58 am · For: Regrets Only
I despise Reid, but I loved this.

Reading this story I can imagine his reason for coming to the wedding: Reid came to see for himself why Luke chose Noah over him. Came to see the reason for his unhappiness.

And seeing them properly together, outside of the hellish place they had created for themselves when he first knew them; meeting Noah, the real Noah, not the angry despondent creature that had just lost everything he thought his life was going to be and lashed out at the only person he felt safe enough to show that part of himself to, Reid finally sees.

His 'If I had gone blind'-comment is probably the closest Reid Oliver will and ever has come to an apology.

But the real magic you perform is in the after-taste of this fic. I didn't even feel sorry for Reid when he was hit by a train (I know: Bad Mariken! No Cookie!). But I felt sorry for him when I was reading this.

Are you sure you don't want to quit your day job and write full-time, Jim? If I sell my new apartment we could probably work out a funding system.... ;-)

Author's Response: As always, Mariken, you have an excellent take on what is going on in the story. I have many issues with Reid, too, as you know, but I tried to put them aside as much as possible in writing this. For the purpose of the event for which it was written, I wanted this to be able to be read and appreciated by both Reid fans and despisers alike. So I refrained from making any judgments about him or Noah and focused on conveying their personalities and words in a way that struck me as authentic to them and then let the readers decide how they actually felt about what was happening. You have hit on an important element, one I've brought up in other stories. Reid met Nuke at their rock bottom worst, and that made it all too easy to convince himself that Noah was bad for Luke and that he would be a better choice. Here, at the wedding rehearsal, he can't deny that Noah makes Luke happier than Reid probably ever would have, a painful realization for Reid who has never been able to get over Luke in three and a half years. And you're right that the "if I had gone blind" comment is close as Reid is going to come to admitting he was wrong. I found a surprising amount of compassion for Reid writing this, but I'm still happy Luke ended up with the man he belonged with. And, lol, we'll have to get to work on that funding system! Thanks, as always, for your insightful and warm reviews. I always look forward to your feedback!


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2013 02:04 am · For: Regrets Only
Loved this Jim as you know! Love the dialogue between Noah and Reid at the pond. Love certain touches like Kate and Jacob in this story. Yep Reid, shouldn't have come really, but I like fact that Luke and Noah are getting married and are so happy. So Reid had that pond swim at last...Thanks for taking part also and get ya thinking cap on for next year's.... Nic will after ya again!! lol x

Author's Response: Thanks for giving this another read, Louise, and for encouraging me to post it here. As I wrote in a couple of my review responses on LJ, I could not have written this story in reverse, with a Luke/Reid wedding and Noah left on the sidelines, mostly because I cannot envision that ever happening and because my Nuke heart could not bear it. So I found I can do a Reid-centric story as long as Nuke are getting the happy ending. No, Reid really shouldn't have come, but he convinced himself he could handle it. He was wrong. Thanks as always for your unwavering support!


You must login (register) to review.