Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

Moments Like This by twins1729 NC-17
Luke and Noah share another intimate moment alone.

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 33%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 33%
Hotness
Hotness 33%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 59
Members:

Name: bebe11 (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2013 08:01 pm · For: Chapter 9
I like to wait until stories are completed before I read them and this was worth the wait! I love it! And congrats on FOTM...well deserved!

Author's Response: I'm quite the same, Ann. I'm not very good with cliffhangers (my nerves and heart can't really handle them, lol) so I love being able to read a story from start to finish, preferably in one go. I'm really glad I made reading this one a pleasant experience for you. Thank you so much for your kind words and your support. Means a lot to me!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2013 07:04 am · For: Chapter 9
“You don’t just love me, Noah,” he spoke softly. “You love me well.”

Yep! I loved this well.

Author's Response: You reviewed this well, also! Thank you so much for your support, Sarah. So very glad you enjoyed the ride!


Name: jb1183 (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2013 10:57 pm · For: Chapter 9
LOVE. Pure, wonderful love.

Ending this marvelous narrative journey with their new beginning, both physically and emotionally, was inspired and deeply moving. Despite the tremendous pain and struggles that led their paths to cross, they have found peace and happiness with each other and their two beautiful children. A PERFECT conclusion to a PERFECT story! Bravo, Mariken! :)

Author's Response: Thank you Jim. As always it is a thrill for me that a writer of your calibre enjoys reading my stuff. Your wonderful review is incredibly appreciated! I wanted the boys to have a happy ending that was a happy beginning at the same time. When I started this fic I thought about an epilogue where the kids are off to their first day of high school and Noah has tasted Emma's Oatmeal Raisin cookies, but quite early on I decided it would be better if that stuff remained unwritten, that I should leave them on the threshold of their future together; happy, with their biggest pains resolved (Luke realising his good experiences outweigh his bad ones and reclaiming his body; Noah not just understanding that he can have a family that is bigger than four people but also that he is fully deserving of that), and their greatest happiness still to come. I'm glad you think my choice worked!


Name: cindyls1969 (Signed) · Date: November 10, 2013 08:38 pm · For: Chapter 9
A wonderful, perfect ending to an amazing story. Thank you for these lovely smiles.

Author's Response: You're very, VERY, welcome Cindy. To be able to make you smile makes me smile (incessantly, and so widely I'm in danger of breaking my face)!


Name: slashfreak (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2013 11:30 am · For: Chapter 9
That was absolutely beautiful. *wipes tears* I love the development of characters, the depth of their personalities and how they came around to grow and love. A job well done!

Author's Response: Sorry I made you cry (but kinda happy I managed to achieve it...).Thank you so very much for your wonderful review!


Name: MissOptimistic (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2013 09:40 am · For: Chapter 9
Such a beautiful chapter. I love how happy everyone was to see Luke, Noah and their kids.

Author's Response: Yup, the Snyders will always be home to Luke, and of course now Noah. The boys just needed to realise that (again). Thanks for your lovely review!


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2013 06:22 am · For: Chapter 9
So well-written and involving from start to finish. I'm not an MPREG fan in general but you made this story realistic and believeable, and I so enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: I am really, really happy you liked it. I had fun creating a (hopefully) believable Mpreg-verse, and it is a thrill to read I'm not the only one who enjoyed it!


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2013 04:02 am · For: Chapter 9
What a wonderful end to an excellent story, Mariken! If that was a schmoopy tear fest then bring it on because it made my nuke heart soar!

I can't begin to tell you how many emotions this made me feel but I've loved every minute of it.

What a touching tribute to Emma that Luke named his little boy Harvey! And now their perfect little family is complete!

I just love how with Noah's love and support Luke was able to find his way home again.

And Noah's words about following Luke to the ends of the earth because with the three of them he felt complete just about melted my heart.

They may be young still but under your hand Luke and Noah have grown into amazing men who love each and their children deeply.

And the touching moments with the Snyders made this ending complete!

That last line was perfection!

Thank you, Mariken, for taking me on this wonderful journey. I've loved every minute of it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Anne, your praise means a lot. I'm thrilled I managed to invoke so many emotions in you. It had to be Harvey, not sure why, but that's the only name I ever considered for Luke's little boy. And for me there were three pieces still missing that I wanted to adress in this chapter. Luke needed to realise that the good things he has in Oakdale ultimately outweigh the atrocity of what was done to him. And he needed to reclaim his body as the final act of his healing process (so glad you liked my last line!). And Noah needed to understand what 'home' really felt like, that that was what he wanted and needed. And that he can have that with Luke and their kids, not just anywhere Luke chooses to go, but most specifically in this little piece of Illinois. I gave them a lot of nasty stuff to deal with in this fic, but I guess nobody on this site ever doubted that Nuke-love conquers all! I once read: a journey is not about the destination but about the company you keep. Thank you for being such a wonderful companion for the journey of this fic, Anne!


Name: Appassionata (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2013 12:49 am · For: Chapter 9
I absolutely loved this wonderful story from beginning to end. I love how together they overcame their hurts and fears and ended up sharing all the Snyders have to offer. Beautiful job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Faye! In this fic the boys had a lot on their plates at a very young age (so, not like canon at all, then, LOL) but together they can overcome anything (well, that's my opinion anyway...), and now they've truly come home. Thank you so very much for your kind review. Means a bunch!


Name: renatajn (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2013 07:35 pm · For: Chapter 9
Simplesmente lindo, maravilhoso!!!!

Author's Response: Obrigado, Renata!


Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2013 03:02 pm · For: Chapter 9
Wonderful ending to an equally wonderful story I truly loved every single word .....

'That night, under Noah’s tender ministrations which he returned in kind, Luke reclaimed full ownership of his body and became whole again, making his home in Noah’s embrace. And as two became one, his bedroom—for ever more—returned to being a safe place'

*** sigh**

Author's Response: Thank you for the sigh and the compliment Stella! I am incredibly glad you liked what you read!


Name: scj0710 (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2013 11:41 am · For: Chapter 9
There is absolutely no way I can be specific about listing perfect things here...because that means absolutely everything. Too much beautiful emotion for me to process fully at the moment...but I will be processing it as I read Fugitives and Refugees again (and again....!) Just a gorgeous finale, Mariken! The pool puddling out from my computer to yours is pure happy tears. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all your magnificent words and the beautiful emotions they convey!

Author's Response: Stacey, Stacey, Stacey... I do SO love your reviews. A while ago I mentioned to somebody that I keep feeling so much disbelief about the fact that people actually like the stuff I wrote, but your enthousiasm and eloquence (you're more specific than you give yourself credit for!)turns my scepticism into warm, happy feelings. Thank you for those, and thank you for your unwavering and heartfelt support. As you probably have gathered by now, it means a lot.


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2013 09:47 am · For: Chapter 9
What a truly wonderful ending to such a fantastic story Mariken! So glad the boys went back to Oakdale and Noah gave Luke happier memories. Congrats on your nomination for fotm as its so well deserved. Totally adored it. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, Louise. It's probably no surprise to any of us that Oakdale is the right place for our boys. It's just that Luke needed to realise the good stuff in this town outweighs the unforgivable act perpetrated upon him, and Noah needed to experience what 'home' felt like before he could realise this is what he needed and wanted. I'm so very happy you enjoyed the ride!


Name: MissOptimistic (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2013 03:52 pm · For: Chapter 8
Can't believe Winston called his own granddaughter an abomination. I was scared that the Colonel would physically hurt Luke, and I'm glad that didn't happen. Although I am still kind of scared that'll happen. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Don't worry, I'm going for an unabashed schmoopy happy ending. And with only one chapter to go, that means Colonel Crazy is gone for good (yay!).


Name: jb1183 (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2013 11:24 pm · For: Chapter 8
I'm so proud of both Luke and Noah in this chapter-Luke for finally getting his fire back by telling off the Colonel and Noah for facing his father and letting go of the power the man held over him. Go, Nuke!

And I love that the experience has prompted Luke to get back in contact with his family. Your writing here strikes the same delicate balance you've maintained throughout the story. For some people, family members can be a toxic influence we would do well to distance ourselves from(obviously Noah's case) or they can be people we can try to run away from, but who our lives would always be less without(obviously Luke's case). An underlying thread that has been woven throughout the entire story is that everyone's experiences (of family, of coming out, of unplanned pregnancy and the feelings surrounding it) are unique and different, and you have honored that diversity of experiences with palpable compassion and sensitivity.

I can't wait for the conclusion of this superb story! Congratulations on another FOTM nomination!

Author's Response: Jim, it took a while before my cheeks stopped burning after reading this. Thanks so much for your kind and thoughtful words! Luke needed to reclaim his power himself. The realisation that not every time he stands up for himself will end in violence and despair, was not something Noah's love (as all-encompassing as it is) could give (back to) him. Your observation on what family means to different people is EXACTLY what I wanted to convey. Not just for Noah (who can only be whole without his (previous) family) and Luke (who can only be whole with them) but for, well, anybody, I guess. And I tried, with this story, to give as many experiences as possible a voice. It is an absolute thrill for me to read you think I've managed to voice them well. Furthermore, this story being nominated for FOTM twice in a row is humbling beyond belief. Pleasant, though.... ;-) I have hopefully managed to address what I believe to be the final three missing pieces in chapter nine. After which I can return to work and studies (oh, who am I kidding? I'll be writing more Nukefic as soon as I have the chance, LOL).


Name: Appassionata (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2013 02:52 pm · For: Chapter 8
I am so in love with this amazing story. So glad Noah got through that confrontation with Winston. As awful as it was both he and Luke learned valuable lessons from it. I'm so glad that Luke will phone home :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much Faye! The boys (for different reasons) both needed this confrontation. And both of them healed because of it (again, in different ways). One even healed enough to do a credible ET-impression ;-)


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2013 01:43 am · For: Chapter 8
Ah, SO glad Luke - and then finally, Noah - stood up to Winston! He needed to be sent packing, and they did it superbly, showing him for the small-minded, pathetic bigot that he is.

And thrilled Luke has realized what he has in his own family, and that he plans to reach out to them. Looking forward to the conclusion!

Author's Response: Yes, Winston finally got told off. And by my/our two favourite people too (not to mention the two most deserving people). Unlike Noah, who probably needs to break away from his father and form his own family to be whole, Luke will never be entirely whole without his relatives. I'm just happy he managed to get his head out of that place where the sun doesn't shine. I hope the last chapter will be a good one for you. Thanks for reading and for writing such a lovely review!


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 02:23 pm · For: Chapter 8
There I was being all happy for the boys in love on their walk with little Izzy and then bam! up pops Colonel Crazy at his bigoted worse!

Go Luke and Noah! But my heart broke for poor Noah when, for a split second, he thought the Colonel meant he was accepting of him before having his hopes dashed. But I was cheering Noah on when he finally told his father what he thought of him!

One good thing that came from the encounter was Luke re-discovered the strength that was in him and made him realise what he has.

I'm proud of our boys!

But I'm also sad that the next chapter will be the last. I want this tremendous story to go on and on, Mariken!!

Author's Response: Isn't it nice though, that we can always count on the Colonel to ruin things? He's such a reliable villain, lol! One of the most damaging aspects of abuse--to me, at least--is the fact that it is so hard to let go of the hope that your parent(s), this time around, will finally treat you as you deserve and do right by you, only to have that hope (even if it's there against your better judgement) crushed and disproved, time and again. It's probably no different for abused spouses, come to think of it. And I was very happy I could give Luke the opportunity to reclaim that part of his power (glad to read you enjoyed that!). Like his family, it was always there, he just needed reminding he has access to it. Thanks for your compliment, but I should probably quit while I'm ahead on this story, lol. Not to mention the fact that I have a job, and finals, and a few other story ideas bouncing around in my head, that could probably do with a bit more of my attention.... ;-)


Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 07:19 am · For: Chapter 8
YAY !!! Gooooo Luke lol

Awe another fabulous chapter xx

Author's Response: Wonderful Yell, Stella, way to go you! Thanks so much for reading, I'm thrilled you're enjoying this! X


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 06:15 am · For: Chapter 8
Oh, my!
Another fabulous chapter.
Way to go, Luke, for standing up to that dreadful man. Of course you're stronger than you think.
I'm so pleased it's all coming together for our boys.

Author's Response: I wanted Luke to realise that the atrocity Marcus subjected him to did not take away his ability to stand up for himself every time; that he is still able (and more importantly: allowed) to speak up for himself or a loved one and not be harmed because of that action. Noah, for all the love he has for Luke, could not give him that, it is a thing Luke needs to reclaim for himself. And as this story is coming together, so are things for our boys, you are absolutely right. A few more gaps to fill in though...


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 06:06 am · For: Chapter 7
Awwwww...gorgeous.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 04:56 am · For: Chapter 6
*Sniffle*
You just about broke my heart with Luke's story. Thank God for Noah.

Author's Response: Little conflicted here: I'm sorry to have almost broken your heart, but kinda glad I managed to do that. :-s And yes, thank god for Noah. Thanks so much for reading, and reviewing so kindly!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 04:30 am · For: Chapter 5
From the comedy of Luke's kitchen mishaps to the heartbreak of Chi's miscarriage - and everything in between - this was beautifully done.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for that assessment! I decided it's the cheese element that makes Luke burn his food. If he could just stop using that, he'd be an amazing cook, lol. And Chi, well. I wanted to include that aspect of pregnancy in the story, but I hated having to break his heart to do so. At least it brought our boys closer together.


Name: cindyls1969 (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2013 09:02 pm · For: Chapter 8
Love how the one thing they needed to stand up to the colonel was their love for each other. I can't wait for Noah to meet the Snyders!

Author's Response: Yeah, it seemed Noah always found it hard to stand up for himself to his dreadful dad, but he never had a problem standing up for Luke (and now Izzy). And that sentiment is entirely returned of course. Ah, love... What do you think though, are the Snyders going to like Noah? I'm a bit worried about Emma, as he's always had a bit of an issue with accepting strangers into her house :-)


Name: Secondbest (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2013 04:28 pm · For: Chapter 1
promising start!

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you'll enjoy the rest of it as well.


You must login (register) to review.