Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

Social Media by ficnic R
AU. Luke Snyder & Company have begun their freshman year in college. One of OU's out-of-state students...

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 50%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 0%
Hotness
Hotness 50%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 32
Members:
Reviews For Secret Recipe

Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2013 02:33 am · For: Secret Recipe
Jim !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wonderful .. I adored reading this again x

Author's Response: Stella, thank you so much for reading this a second time! I appreciate all your kind words and support so much!


Name: fakepurseninjas (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2013 12:01 am · For: Secret Recipe
I love this! I'm such a sucker sappy happy endings.

Author's Response: Sorry to be so late responding to your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed it and thank you for reading and reviewing!


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: September 13, 2013 01:16 pm · For: Secret Recipe
Ah Jim! I so enjoyed reading this perfect slice of nukeness again!

As always you have their characters spot on!

And oh yes they are totally ready!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Anne! I love these characters, so I'm delighted that you think I write them spot on! And, yes, there is no doubt that they are ready to start this journey together! Your supportive words are always so greatly appreciated!


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2013 08:11 pm · For: Secret Recipe
Loved this a lot, Jim. :)


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2013 08:10 pm · For: Secret Recipe
Loved this a lot, Jim. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Nic. I appreciate the support! :)


Name: scj0710 (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2013 01:25 pm · For: Secret Recipe
There are no words which can convey how lovely Secret Recipe is. What a beautiful tribute to not only Luke and Noah's love for each other - but Emma Snyder's love for them. I well up just thinking about Emma trusting Noah with that recipe. Even Pepper is just perfect! Another gorgeous piece of work - you spoil us, Jim!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Stacey! I always thought that if anyone would be entrusted with Emma's recipes, it would be Noah. And this week of sibling (and dog) watching was Luke and Noah's initiation into chaotic family life and parenting, and they've decided that there are ready for the adventure! I appreciate your support and kind words so much!


Name: pwalla (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2013 06:09 am · For: Secret Recipe
Loved this. That is all. Just loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and for your very sweet review!


Name: bebe11 (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 06:00 pm · For: Secret Recipe
Really sweet. I hope there's a follow-up story to this one!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And it's a great compliment that you're interested in a follow up. I appreciate your reading and your kind review!


Name: MissOptimistic (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 01:57 pm · For: Secret Recipe
Logged in so that I could comment on this cute story. Found it incredibly sweet that Luke thought four years of marriage meant newlyweds, that put a smile to my face. And this line “I’m ready to start a family with you.” - Aww

Author's Response: Thank you for logging in to comment. That was really kind of you! Yes, Luke still sees him and Noah as newlyweds and has really misjudged how ready he and Noah are to start a family until this series of events opens him and Noah up to it. Thanks again for reading and the sweet review!


Name: Honeybee (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 12:24 pm · For: Secret Recipe
Just lovely. It's a pleasure to read about our boys in a happy and chaotic domestic situation. Love the cookies bit.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I like my Nuke endgames and drama as much as anyone, but it's definitely refreshing to read about them dealing with daily family life. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and for your kind review!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 06:32 am · For: Secret Recipe
I may have mentioned this a time or two, Jim, but just in case you've forgotten....

I love your writing.

Everything you write personifies Luke and Noah for me, whether they're young and setting out on their journey, or older and well established in family life.

What I really admire is the way you can take such a tiny slice of everyday life, however mundane, and turn it into such a wonderful depiction of all the characters involved. Your dialogue is always spot on - something I often find clunky in other stories when it just doesn't ring true - and my imagination sings with every word

You are a true artist.

Author's Response: Sarah, your words touch a special place inside my heart. You are a superb writer yourself, and I'm proud to receive such high praise from you. I particularly appreciate your comments on the dialogue. I am always and ever grateful for your extraordinary support and generosity to me.


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 05:03 am · For: Secret Recipe
You already know I love this! Your slices of nuke life are just amazing Jim! Keep serving them up! Anytime!! Xxx

Author's Response: Thanks so much Louise! I so greatly appreciate your kind words and support! I'm sure there will be more slices of life to come! :)


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 04:58 am · For: Secret Recipe
Jim I don't just appreciate your stories. You have impeccable timing as well, LOL! Every time I have to entrench myself into a(n interesting but time consuming) study project, you post one of your tales and it is a wonderful start of my day which makes the rest of the dreary hours spent researching a lot easier.

As for this story: it is all there. The way these two guys are clearly going to be awesome parents; Pepper reminding me why I am a cat-person, but being adorable at the same time; Nat being a teenager in all of her confused, brusque awkwardess, (not-so-)little(-anymore) Ethan being the kind of kid-brother I wished I had, and as icing on the cake Lucinda (easily my favourite grandmother in all of fiction) in all of her Lucinda-esque splendour.

And Emma. This story is all about her (to me at least) and in a way she is present in every word. Although it is usually a much abused cliché, with Emma food WAS in fact love. Her love for her family was in the care of and attention for her preparations and her choice of ingredients, as well as in the volumes of her cooking and baking.

Naturally Noah is the one who understands that the best (just as he is probably the one who, starting as the outsider looking in but quickly enveloped by her grandmotherly affection, least takes it for granted), and I love how Emma recognised that and chose to continue her food traditions through him, by giving him the recipe(s). Unsurprising, Noah more than fits the bill, as Natalie finds out here.

Okay (as promised some time previously), in 50 words or less: this story stunningly conveys everything a family (warts and all) should be to and for each other. It is (once again!) a glorious addition to the Nuke universe. Thanks for sharing it with us. Would you please consider giving up your day-job and writing full-time?

Author's Response: Mariken, I'm so glad the timing always works out for you! And it means so, so much to me that you consider reading my stories a "wonderful" start to your study day(s). I also appreciate so much how you always understand exactly what I have hoped to convey thematically. Emma's cooking was representative of a particular mode of nurturing love and, in passing on the recipe(s) to Noah, she is passing on much more than simply instructions for cooking and baking. And Noah certainly rises to her challenge and responds intuitively to Natalie and Ethan's needs, in much the same way Emma responded so intuitively to his. And, in stepping into the parental roles for the week and and being lovingly present to younger siblings still coming back to Earth after a significant loss, these guys finally feel "ready" to be parents. I cannot thank you enough for your generous words! When the world finally decides that I should be entitled to food, shelter, and clothing without having to pay for them, I will immediately quit my job and start writing full time. :) Thank you so, so much for your articulate and thoughtful reviews.


Name: JTKirkA (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2013 08:44 pm · For: Secret Recipe
What a wonderful story! A true tribute to all the characters involved. A simple thing like the cookie recipe and it brings all 4 of the kids closer and helps the boys realize that they are ready for kids of their own...very well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Sometimes these small moments of everyday life are preparation and direction to the bigger moments to come. Thanks for reading and reviewing. I appreciate the kind words!


You must login (register) to review.