Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

Resolutions by ficnic R
One-shot. Five resolutions he could keep, and one he couldn't.

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 50%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 0%
Hotness
Hotness 50%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 30
Members: Kellie29

Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2013 01:00 am · For: Solitary Confinement
The Noah first-person works well here, with his confusion about how things happened mirroring ours. Just love how creative this is, Jim!

Author's Response: I somehow missed responding to this way back when you wrote it, Nic, but thank you so much! The whole story took shape around the idea of exploring the character Noah's reaction to his creators throwing him away like yesterday's trash-an epically terrible creative decision. Thanks again for your support!


Name: Appassionata (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 11:05 pm · For: Solitary Confinement
Delightfully clever account of the characters Luke and Noah. Reminds me of the brilliance of one of my very favorite classic Sci Fi series. This story is truly unforgettable.

Author's Response: Somehow I missed responding to this way back when you wrote it, Faye, but thank you so much! I'm sure I don't deserve comparison with the brilliance of The Twilight Zone, but I truly appreciate it! Thank you for reading!


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 03:16 am · For: Solitary Confinement
I think this is the most unique story I've ever read JIm! It said everything we all thought about jake/Noah's treatment by ATWT writers and producers. Sheer brilliance. Loved it x

Author's Response: Louise, somehow I missed responding to this way back when you wrote it, but thank you so much! Jake/Noah's treatment will always be a sore spot for me, but at the same time I'm convinced that all the endgame scenario fics that have sought to set things right are infinitely better than anything they would have come up with. Thanks, as always, for your kind words and constant support!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2013 01:13 pm · For: Solitary Confinement
I love re-reading these mini-bangs and this one is just such a great concept!

Author's Response: Thanks, Gillian! You're always so good to me!


Name: bebe11 (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2013 06:51 pm · For: Solitary Confinement
I love this and how you hit the nail(s) on the head with how ATWT treated Nuke, Noah and Jake. It was beyond cruel. I'm still angry 3 years later with how everything went down, especially how Noah/Jake was thrown under the bus to prop that ass, Reid. I mean, Alison cheated on Casey right before their wedding and yet even they were afforded the opportunity to reconcile before the show went off the air, but Luke and Noah were never given that same chance. Noah would have fought for Luke...actually, Luke would've never fallen for that self-absorbed idiot in the first place like you pointed out. No wonder Goutman and co. ran the show into the ground. Well, I guess we Nukies can take pleasure that Luke and Noah are reunited in LA while Reid is still dead!:) Sorry about the long rant and Nuke 4-ever!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Writing this was some really good therapy for my bitterness over how horribly everything was handled. And you are right that couples whose relationships were FAR more toxic than Nuke's (Jack and Carly!Casey and Ali!) got happy endings, but Nuke got the shaft. The treatment of Noah/Jake was a complete disgrace. Luke acted like a pod person had taken over his body. He would NEVER have fallen in love with Reid or told Noah they weren't right for each other. The whole thing was a mess. But, yes, Nuke are reunited in LA. If ATWT had reunited them, it would have been rushed and poorly written. Because of fanfic, we have countless scenarios for their reunion, all of them beautifully and lovingly written. Nuke 4-ever indeed!


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2013 09:03 am · For: Solitary Confinement
This has to be one of the most imaginative ideas ever!

In your capable hands, what could have been a maudlin, whiny piece, becomes a very poignant (and funny!) tribute to the characters, the actors and the fans who, faced with the awfulness (and oh my, when you sum it up like this, it really is a LOT of awfulness, isn’t it?) found a way to continue the magic, in spite of what those horrible ATWT-people dared to come up with for our boys.

As per usual I agree with every one of your assessments. I remember feeling the things you describe here, when I watched ATWT in a solitary confinement of my own, too sick to leave the house, and falling in love with Nuke as they made my life a little less unpleasant (that’s how they came to mean so much to me). I was reminded of the many different ways the Luke/Nuke story (starting with Luke’s coming out storyline) has affected so many people and so many lives, in all these different, but mostly positive ways.

And there were tears when I read the last part. Luke doing what he did to give Noah a glimmer of hope was (dare I say it in this context?) completely ‘canon’.

Sorry this review is so long. You gave me all these feelings that I need to get off my chest!

Long story short: This fic invoked a lot of different emotions in me, from both ends of the spectrum. Which to me makes it a reader’s dream come true.

WONDERFUL

Author's Response: Mariken, you are so, so kind. I truly appreciate it. I love getting reviews from you because they're so intelligent and detailed that they cause me to take a look at my own writing from new angles based on your insight. What a great gift that is. And yes, Luke doing what he did for Noah is the true "canon," not the out of character nonsense that took place once Reid came to town, but who these characters TRULY are, and were before the ATWT writers decided to make everything revolve around a character that wasn't even on the show an entire ten months. I'm glad that both the humor and the poignancy shined through for you. It was my intention to evoke a few different emotions, so I'm very pleased you thought I was successful. As always, I so appreciate your generous and gracious reviews!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2013 04:57 am · For: Solitary Confinement
You know I absolutely loved the originality of this, Jim. So worth another read - and I think it's gonna be one of those that offers up something new every single time.

Author's Response: Thank you Sarah. You are just so wonderfully kind and supportive.


Name: lukey (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2013 01:50 am · For: Solitary Confinement
ha, great! confusing, but very original.

Author's Response: Thanks! I was confused when I wrote it, too, but I'm appreciative that everyone has decided to take it for what it is and not scrutinize the internal logic too much! :)


Name: mokuren (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2013 12:29 am · For: Solitary Confinement
This is great.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


You must login (register) to review.