Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

Safe House by European Orchid NC-17
Luke finds that working as a researcher for a security company comes with unexpected events.
"Forgiveness...

Random Story

The Gold Medal by Aspirwriter PG
Luke hooks up with Olympic star skier, "Mayer".

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4395 members. In total, there have been 28018 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is missbeto.

Shoutbox

scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Tonya
06/05/17 04:10 pm
Thanks for those reminders @scj0710 and @abohannon35! I can't believe its been 10 years!
abohannon35
06/01/17 06:42 am
gotta say Happy Birthday to Jake Silbermann. ps. I love this site
scj0710
05/31/17 09:44 pm
June 1-Ten years ago Noah walked into WOAK and Nuke was born. Thank you to Tonya, European Orchid and everyone else who make this site such a perfect place to visit, read some great stories & relax!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:57 pm
Thank you to the two recent donors! Thanks to you two and the 2 earlier donors, the site is now paid for thru the next several months! Thanks so much, everyone!
Tonya
05/28/17 09:52 pm
Thanks @European Orchid! I thought that username looked sketchy the other day but i didn't want to delete it w/o proof it was spam. Should have trusted my instinct!
European Orchid
05/28/17 08:35 pm
spamaccount detected. I'm on it. will remove reviews and block account.
Tonya
05/23/17 03:02 pm
Thank you very much, @amythesw & sorry for the trouble you were having! Thanks also to the 1 other person who made a donation! I appreciate both greatly!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 33%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 0%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 0%
Enchanted
Enchanted 0%
Frosted
Frosted 33%
Hotness
Hotness 33%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members: Sss

Name: Seamus56 (Signed) · Date: March 23, 2016 06:37 am · For: Chapter 17
Can't leave it there - at least I hope you wont. Too much left unfinished, too many questions. What happens with Brooke? Robbie or Oliver?? Can't leave Casey in the lurch, either. Excellently crafted story. The flashbacks are well thought out and enhance the storyline; the "double proposal" a few chapters back was literary genius and had me giggling, too. This story is terrific and I'm not ready for it to be done. I hope you'll find your Muse enough to close a few of the loose ends. More, please!!


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: December 30, 2015 12:34 am · For: Chapter 17
It's this one Jim!! Love this story so much!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2013 09:32 pm · For: Chapter 17

Well, now she knows :-) She handled the truth really well considering how angry she was at the very idea of it! But I guess hearing it direct from the horses mouth helped soften the blow - combined with Noah's message not to blow things buried in the past out of proportion.... Amazing how much like Luke she is in emotional terms, yes she's Noah through and through when it comes to thought processes... They are just such a wonderful mix this little family... Love this story!



Author's Response: Thanks so much, Gillian! And I think you are completely right. Hearing about it directly from Luke and realizing that it was long in the past caused Brooke to accept the truth better than when it was just a suggestion marring her idealized view of her dad's life together. And having Luke assure her that Noah is the love of his life certainly softens the blow that he was with someone else for awhile. And I am absolutely thrilled that you have picked up that she is a perfect combination of Luke's emotional intensity and Noah's intellect. I'm long overdue for an update on this one, so hopefully I will get that together soon! Thanks, as always, for your lovely and thoughtful review!


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2013 11:46 am · For: Chapter 17
I'm loving the depth you show us in each relationship in this story - Luke and Noah, of course, but also each of them with each of their children. Every relationship is distinct and valuable. This talk between Luke and Brooke is a perfect example, showing how Brooke, even as an adult, has held her fathers on a bit of a pedestal, and how aware Luke is of that to fear disappointing her by telling this story.

Now, what on earth has happened to poor Casey?

Author's Response: Nic, One of the things I appreciate so much about you as a reviewer is your keen awareness of what the authors are attempting to do in a given story. It has been very important to me to establish the various parent-child relationships as uniquely distinct, since, drawing upon my own family dynamics for example, my relationships with each of my parents are distinct from my brother's, and my brother's relationships with each of them are distinct from my sisters's...and so on. It actually bugs me that I'm 17 chapters in and story logistics have kept me from establishing a distinct Luke/Sean dynamic. I'm looking for the first opening I can get to do more with that father/son pair. And you also make a great point that Nuke's children have always viewed their relationship and marriage as the ideal barometer against which all relationships and marriages should be measured, so the revelation of how close they came to breaking apart for good is something that Luke hoped he wouldn't have to share. Fortunately, Brooke recognizes that what's truly important is not what challenges they have faced, but how they put themselves back together afterward and learned from them. I always appreciate your thoughtful comments! Thanks so much!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2013 12:49 pm · For: Chapter 17
Oh, Jim.
I'm so bloody jealous of how effortlessly you portray every character and weave the threads of their stories together.

In a single chapter - in the words of a single character - you have created a perfectly believable canonical backdrop that perfectly complements the lives Luke and Noah lead today.

More importantly, you're not interested in assigning blame or Reid bashing, as so many writers are. For me, this is an instant turn-off, because it takes responsibility out of Luke's hands. Your Luke understands the young man behind the choices he made and accepts his mistakes as his own.
I love you for it.

Seriously.

Author's Response: Thank you SO much, Sarah! It has been important to me that this future universe flows from canon because I want to show a Nuke who bounced back from that painful experience and thrived as a couple. And I think it's safe to say that Luke the character undoubtedly has a better opinion of Reid than Jim the author does, but I think it's vital to let the characters speak words that seem authentic to them rather than just have them be mouthpieces for the author's biases and perspectives. And you're right that Luke, especially a Luke who is looking back from thirty+ years in the future, would take ownership of his own choices and mistakes. And one of MY instant turn-offs is when blame is laid entirely at only one of Luke/Noah's feet and the other is presented as completely blameless. Brooke is the objective outside observer here, reminding Luke that it was a painful situation and both he and Noah made mistakes. Which is both my viewpoint and, I think, the truth of the matter. Thank you for the insightful compliment! Your support means so very much to me!


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 02:37 pm · For: Chapter 17
Such an excellent chapter, Jim!

I loved Noah's summation of Luke's character at the beginning here. It's so on point!

And I wholeheartedly agree with Brooke after she heard Luke's revelation - having greater respect for their marriage and for the men they've become. Amen to that!

But, uh-oh, that ending! What's happened to Casey?!!

Don't keep us in suspense too long, Jim!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Anne! That's Luke, alright. He can drive Noah a bit crazy, but Noah knows no one would ever love him better. It was very important for me to set this story about their wonderful, successful marriage in a future universe that followed canon because I wanted to portray a Nuke that had bounced back from the hell of 2010 and thrived as a couple. And what's happened to Casey, indeed? I'll try not to make you wait too long to find out. Your support means the world to me, Anne!


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 02:05 pm · For: Chapter 17
Yup, I knew it. This is even better upon a second (and, if I'm totally honest, third) read.

You word-magician you.

Author's Response: :) What more can be said but 'thank you?'Your encouragement touches my heart.


Name: scj0710 (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 02:03 pm · For: Chapter 17
I am so happy to be catching up with your glorious "Every Dream I've Ever Had", Jim! Beautiful chapter...so much heart and soul. Noah and Luke talking with Brooke about how much they love each other moves me to tears! You get right to the heart of the matter and the truth of the situation...which ATWT didn't grasp at all. Absolutely wonderful...except now I am out of control with worry about Casey!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Stacey! Yes, Luke and Noah are a forever love. In this story, I really see them as one of those long married couples that everyone wants to emulate. They're not perfect, they still squabble and get on each others' nerves from time to time, but they have done this marriage thing as well as it can possibly be done. And it was really important to me to portray this ideal marriage in a universe which flowed directly out of canon, where the bounced back from the hell of 2010 and thrived as a couple in the future. And, yes, I was quite the meanie with that cliffhanger, wasn't I? Your supportive words are SO greatly appreciated!


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 11:10 am · For: Chapter 17
Oh another cliff-hanger..you are so good at those Jim lol What can I say? Noah's speech about the capacity for Luke has was so moving!! Luke explaining falling for Reid and the aftermath also so well wrote! You did an amazing job of this chapter Jim! Now I hope Casey is ok ,,maybe Brooke and Robbie could look for him together lol x

Author's Response: Thank you so much Louise! Luke can still frustrate Noah, but he knows no one else could ever love him better! I really struggled with finding the right words for Luke's explanation of his experiences, so I'm glad you enjoyed what I came up with. And, yes, Casey is missing and it's pretty much a given that this event will bring Brooke and Robbie closer somehow. Your support means so much to me!


Name: Horserider (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 11:06 am · For: Chapter 17
Wow Jim such a great chapter, you really know how to keep us enthralled, loved the way you let Luke explain his feelings for Reid and what his life would be like without Noah just can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Paul! I so greatly appreciate your support. I'm glad you liked my interpretation of what was going through Luke's head at that time. I'll try not to make you wait too long for the next chapter!


Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 06:29 am · For: Chapter 17
Aww Jim this has to be my favourite chapter so far I adore this story but this chapter Luke and Brooke's talk it perfection the emotion seep through from your words ..

And damn then you go and give us the Casey cliff hanger xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much Stella! This chapter was SO hard to write, so for you to call it "your favorite so far" means so much. I appreciate your support more than words can convey!


Name: pwalla (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 05:03 am · For: Chapter 17
After all, he was the man who lashed out at me and pushed me away while he was blind. Reid took it upon himself to remind me of that fact whenever I mentioned Pop.” He laughed bitterly. “Because, you know, we sighted persons were the goddamn experts on how the blind person SHOULD have coped in the first few months of acquiring his disability.”

This is the first fic I've read that so perfectly summed up the anger I've always felt about the breakup. Your explanation was so spot on about the problems they faced. Thank you.

I love this fic, although you've been foreshadowing an event that makes me very uneasy. Every chapter has me on pins and needles.

Great job

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was extremely uncomfortable with the show's attempts to villify a person struggling to come to terms with a life altering disability. The scene where Reid laid into Noah about his treatment of Luke had me just about ready to throw something at the screen. It's not that I approved of Noah's treatment of Luke, but it was obvious he was doing it because he was depressed and hurting, and having sighted people, who had no way of knowing how they'd react in the same situation, berating and judging him for it pissed me off big time. And, yes, there are some clues and foreshadowing in this and other chapters about a certain event that may be coming soon. I'm glad you caught those, and I'm afraid you'll continue to wait on pins and needles for a while longer! Thanks again for reading and for your supportive comments!


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 04:23 am · For: Chapter 17
Dammit Jim! I’m at work, I’m not supposed to be crying here! But it’s the only appropriate response to reading Noah describe how Luke loves (with all of his own love shining through every word), and reading Luke’s apology (with all of his love for Noah on display) where he finally, FINALLY voices what we all knew to be true, but the damn ATWT writers so blatantly ignored. Although he got more screen time than Noah, Luke too was denied a perspective and you address it beautifully.

What gets me about this story (well, one of the many things that get me) is how absolutely pitch-perfect the characters are. Even decades on, Noah and Luke are simply older versions of who they were. You haven’t sacrificed their essence to make them evolve, and oh my, evolved they have. I find myself accepting them as entirely logical continuations of the Nuke we got to know between 2007-2010. But it’s more than that. Even the original characters are gloriously themselves, from chapter to chapter. This chapter’s Brooke is a great example.

Before I read this again (I just know I’ve only scratched the surface of all the layers you included for us) and get frustrated over that cliff-hanger (I’m about as patient as Luke, you see...) I need tell you what I realise I’ve said before but bears repeating ad inifinitum: you ROCK and I wish I could write like you. Ten is too low a number to rate this.

Author's Response: As always, Mariken, receiving a review from you is like being given a nice, soft blanket to wrap myself in on a cold night. It brings me warmth and happiness :) I would be embarrassed to admit how much time I spent on this chapter, and a big part of the challenge was, as you astutely point out, that Luke was denied a perspective. He may have had screen time, but he became nothing more than Reid's prop by the end. So I wanted to articulate his thoughts in a way that was authentic both to what played out onscreen (since this is a future universe flowing from canon) and what we all knew had to really be going on inside Luke's head. And, of course, keeping in mind that this is Luke looking back thirty years down the line. Your words on the characterizations of older Luke and Noah, as well as the original characters, mean the world to me. And you ROCK. Seriously, I'll be smiling for days because of this review :)


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2013 12:23 am · For: Chapter 16
I am in awe, Jim.
You weave their lives together so effortlessly and I believe every word that comes out of your characters' mouths.
It's a gift. A gift, I tell you!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, Sarah. Your praise truly touches my heart. I'm pleased that this story continues to resonate with you and am ever grateful for your thoughtful words of support.


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: July 14, 2013 01:30 am · For: Chapter 16
What a chapter, Jim! So glad to see you back with this story. It's such a rich tapestry of all their lives together! And you weave it so very well.

Love Brooke and Robbie's interaction here.

But oh my that was an explosive scene at the end there. So very Luke to react like that and so very Noah to try to calm everything down.

Can't wait to see how the conversation between Brooke and Luke goes!

Hurry back with more!

Author's Response: Anne, I love your tapestry metaphor, which you've used before to describe this story. That's such touching praise! Thank you! I'm so glad that Brooke and Robbie seem to be coming off well. And, yes, that's classic Luke. My Luke is often a bit of a handful, but is motivated completely by love and concern for the people in his life. His heart is always in the right place, even when he's handling things completely the wrong way. Noah recognizes this, and after all these years, knows he's not going to change him. He can only calm him down and guide him to ways to rectify the damage done. In this universe, Nuke are the long married couple that have the stable, rock solid marriage that everyone else envies. I'm excited for all of you to read Luke and Brooke's talk. I'm already working on it! Thanks so much for your generous support of this story, Anne! It means so much!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2013 05:41 am · For: Chapter 16
Love the tender father and son chat that was way overdue for them both! Wonderfully done, so much emotion with a hint of humour to smile at.

Also adore how even though Noah is angry at Luke, he just can't act angry at him...

Looking forward to the father and daughter chat to come!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the father/son talk, Gill! I so frequently write Luke as high strung that I wanted to show that he is also an excellent father, capable of calming down and saying what needs to be said to his children when he really needs to. I originally envisioned Noah remaining furious with Luke into the next chapter, but it didn't ring true to me for 30+ years married Nuke. Noah is still angry, but there is instant forgiveness and assurances of love. I'm already working on the next chapter. It's one I've been excited to write for a long time. Thanks, Gill, for your kind support. I appreciate it so much!


Name: Horserider (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2013 03:35 am · For: Chapter 16
Fabulous chapter Jim, really enjoying the build up to Luke's chat with Brook, should make interesting reading can't wait.

Author's Response: Thanks Paul! I've been working on this story for over a year, and Luke's talk with Brooke about the Lure mess has been a scene I've envisioned since I first started it. I'm really looking forward to writing it, and I'll try not to make you wait too long! Thanks for your kind support of this story!


Name: fakepurseninjas (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2013 05:11 pm · For: Chapter 16
I so-o love this story. ;-]

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate you taking the time to read it and comment!


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2013 05:48 am · For: Chapter 16
Yeah at last...its out and Luke sees the light lol Another wonderful chapter of this amazing story...my fav post show one ever! Was so hoping Robbie would reveal his feelings for Brooke! Loved Luke telling Matt how much he is loved also. Let's hope things will be better between them. Luke sure went off on one...thank goodness Noah forgave him!

It is always worth the wait for a new chapter of this fantastic story Jim!! x

Author's Response: Louise, I'm so touched by the "fave post show one ever" qualifier. That's an incredible thing for you to say! Thank you! Yes, I'm afraid Robbie's feelings being revealed is going to be dragged out a little bit longer. And I thought it was important to show that Luke, in his own way, is also a great father. Noah is more naturally "Holden-like," but Luke also learned a thing or two from the old man! But then, of course, Luke is still Luke and completely flips out over Brooke's impending engagement. And, yes, now that Luke finally knows why he dislikes Oliver so, it will be interesting to see what exactly he says to Brooke about that particular moment in his life. Thanks, as always, Louise, for your constant support of this story!


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2013 05:21 am · For: Chapter 16
Ha Luke - that really couldn't have gone down any other way once he found out about the impending proposal, could it? I love that despite Noah's anger, he can't hold on to it with Luke because Luke's passion is a huge part of what he loves about him.

It was nice to see Matt and his father have a moment of understanding. Those are often few and far between in the teen years.

Poor Robbie - timing has not been his friend! I think he's gonna have to stop waiting for the *perfect* moment and just come out with his feelings at one of these crazy, family-drama filled moments, or he's gonna run out of time!

Still loving this, Jim!

Author's Response: When I first envisioned this chapter many months ago, I imagined it ending with Noah angrily yelling at Luke that the reason he doesn't like Oliver is because he remind him of Reid and then stomping upstairs to leave Luke to ponder that. But when it came time to write it, it just didn't ring true to me. Maybe if it was twentysomething Noah, but not middle aged, 30+ years married Noah. Quick forgiveness and gently guiding Luke to that realization rang much truer, so that's what I ended up writing. And, yes, that same passion of Luke's that drives Noah nuts is also a major part of what makes him the man that Noah loves. I think you're right about Robbie. Eventually he's just going to need to come out with it, and it may not be under the controlled, ideal circumstances he's imagining. In fact, we can probably count on it. Thanks so much, Nic!


Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2013 03:07 am · For: Chapter 16
Poor head strong Luke jumping in feet first and finally the Reid light Bulb moment .. I feel so for Noah always trying to be the peace maker in the family you are building this up so well Jim still have my bad feeling for Noah this family is going to be rocked to the core when something happens to there foundation stone Noah holds this family together but I have every faith that he will recover lol May have this totally wrong but it but gut feeling lol wonderful amazing chapter that had me enthralled from the beginning ... Oh and loved the chat Matt and Luke had brilliant and Robbie really needs to grow a pair lol and tell Brooke how he feels before she gets into deep with Ried incarnate lol xxx

Author's Response: You're so right about Noah, Stella. He just wants everyone to be happy and get along. He's the quiet but solid center of the family, and if something happened to him, it would really rock the family. I definitely think you have caught on to foreshadowing throughout the story regarding him. And now that Luke has had the Reid light bulb moment, he's going have to revisit the past and share some hard truths with Brooke. Thank you so much for reading and for the kind words you always give me. I truly appreciate them!


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2013 01:32 am · For: Chapter 16
There is a Dutch pastrysnack called 'spekkoek' which is made up of at least 10 layers fused into one delicious thing. This chapter is 'spekkoek'

“It’s amazing how quickly things can change.” The Robbie/Brooke talk is full of subtext. These two are (dare I say it) right for each other, and you point that out so delicately. I felt like I was enjoying their connection with them.

Next up is the Luke/Matt talk which is basically al 'text'. A perfect father/son talk, full of the honesty and straightforwardness that they both needed. And I love how you made the ramifications of that conversation even bigger when it 'fixes' (at least for now) the Noah/Matt dynamic in the process.

Next up are Noah and Luke. This time the weather provides the subtext and that was the most perfectly timed thunderclap I encountered in a while! What I love about this exchange is that Noah doesn't hold back, or sugarcoats what he knows is unwelcome news, but at the same time surrounds Luke with his love.

And then you go full circle (spekkoek always starts and end with the same layer) and bring the subtext back full force in Luke's reaction towards Brooke. (Geez, Snyder, Reid much?).

Just so you know: Luke's response was EPIC, and everything I hoped and wished for. As was the way you tied up the chapter, subtext and text coming together as Noah's loving (if angry) encouragement helps Luke finally realise what's really going on here.

This was lovely Jim. I'm sorry I needed so much 'text' to convey that, but I couldn't help myself.

Author's Response: First of all, Mariken, spekkoek sounds delicious! :) And makes for a delightful motif for your review! I'm glad you caught on to the subtext in the Brooke/Robbie conversation and regarding the storm. I'm thrilled that the connection between those two strikes you as genuine. I want their eventual getting together to feel earned, and you've certainly made me feel like I'm headed in the right direction on that. And I love that you caught the temporary 'fix' of the Noah/Matt relationship tucked within the Luke/Matt make up talk, as Noah/Matt will continue to be an important relationship dynamic of this story going forward. I have tried to flesh out each of the three kids' relationships with their respective fathers. Story logistics haven't allowed much of an opportunity to explore Luke/Sean yet, but I plan to get to them soon. I thought people might enjoy that thunderclap, lol! When I first envisioned the end scene of the chapter, I imagined Noah angrily informing Luke that his unconscious dislike of Oliver was because he reminded him of Reid and then stomping upstairs. But when it came time to write it, it just didn't ring true. So I wrote it with Noah forgiving Luke and then gently leading him to the realization. That felt much more fitting and in character for Noah thirty years older and wiser. I love your reviews. They, too, have at least 10 layers of wonderfulness! Thanks so much for your lovely words!


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2013 04:41 am · For: Chapter 15
Ah, Noah. He should have remembered what Luke told him a long, long time ago; he should have gone with his feelings and just punched Oliver's lights out. I know I wanted to... ;-)

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm trying to make Oliver obnoxious without making him an exact replica of Reid. He's got a similar lack of social skills, though, which Brooke is willing to look the other way on because of the attention he showers on her-not too different from the way that Luke became all too willing to overlook Reid's flaws because of the ego boost he gave him. We have a very familiar love triangle on our hands... I hope you enjoy the next chapter! It's almost here!


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2013 04:30 am · For: Chapter 14
Ooh, there's Patrick. I can't believe I missed him the first time I read this. I knew you'd come through for him (and me!), Jim, you're too generous a writer not too. But I am glad I don't have to envisage his happy ending on my own. What you came up with is undoubtedly better, LOL.

As for the final part of this chapter. Even knowing what I would be reading, partaking of Noah's trust while being aware of the betrayal that lies beneath Reid's kind words, stil stings. That comes from your flawles depiction of Noah's emotional state, but (because you write it so well) also relates to me personally. During my sickly spell I have come across my share of medical professionals and Reid Oliver personifies the worst of what I encountered. I know what it's like to feel as helpless and at the mercy of a physican as Noah is here, and Reid abused his power over Noah in the worst possible way. He may have been a great surgeon, but he was a lousy doctor. I feel so very angry at him on Noah's behalf!

Good job though, you, giving me all these feelings. ;-)

Author's Response: Oh, yes, there was no way I would leave Patrick's story unexplored. Even though he and Noah have both found their ultimate happiness and fulfillment with other people, there's always been a deep connection because of that year they shared together and the truly deep feelings they had for each other. A renewal of their friendship would be a great gift to them both. But of course, you know there has to be some drama before that happens! The scene I flashed back to really stood out to me when I watched the episode because I felt it was a rare glimpse into Noah and Reid's relationship before the reveal of the betrayal, as well as one of the even rarer times during the final story that Noah was actually allowed to have a POV. He was scared. He was helpless.I was struck by the contrast of how well Reid handled that pre-surgery conversation and him trying to bed a distraught Luke only a few hours later while Noah was in a coma. I could go and on, but I'll just say that I agree completely with your assessment of Reid's behavior. The show (and Luke) was quick to try and minimize the extent of Reid's unethical and selfish behavior and attempt to cast Noah as the bad guy, but that was total nonsense. Reid's later telling off of Noah for how he treated Luke was one of the most offensive things I've ever seen on television-a man who'd never lost his sight, never had to struggle with a disability, railing at a man for struggling to come to terms with a disability that had completely upended his life. It made me furious. I was extremely uncomfortable in general with the lack of compassion the writing had for Noah's plight. Rant over. You can be rest assured that this is NOT a story that will gloss over Reid's behavior. I'm glad I gave you all the feelings :)


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2013 01:46 pm · For: Chapter 10
Even though Noah probably saved Patrick's life (and possibly his own) by shutting him out, my heart still breaks for him. To make myself feel better I'm just going to imagine a happily ever after for him, with a man who adores him.

Such a poignant and beautiful (if painful) peek into Noah's rotten youth, Jim!

Author's Response: Yes, I think Patrick would definitely have been in danger from Colonel Crazy if Noah had taken the leap and gotten together with him. And your instincts are right, as usual, because Patrick did eventually find himself a wonderful man named Paul, to whom he's very happily married. Paul is briefly introduced in Chapter 14, and he and Pat will play a more prominent role as the story unfolds. In the universe of this story, Noah and Patrick truly did love each other and the painful ending of their friendship and potential romance is a definite "what if?" in both their lives, even as they have both gone on to end up with the loves of their lives. I'm very humbled that you're rereading this entire thing. Thank you so much for your support! It means so much to me!


You must login (register) to review.